Two SA revotes scheduled May 2

Written by


May 1, 2007

4:04 AM

A revote for the class of 2008’s vice president for advocacy and treasurer will take place tomorrow, according to Student Assembly Election Commissioner Adam Boltik.

p. Juniors Matt Brown and Shariff Tanious will take part in a runoff for the position. The polls will be open from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. on the Student Information Network’s website,

p. Brown was initially declared the winner by one vote after the March 29 election, but Tanious appealed the decision, saying that junior Bryan Jones — who is currently interning in Florida — was unable to access SIN and vote. Jones voted through e-mail instead, which the commission initially rejected.

p. After a review board meeting, the commission decided to authorize the e-mailed vote, declaring a tie between Brown and Tanious and calling for a revote.

p. Treasurer candidate junior Laura Rogers also had her election overturned after Nick Faulkner, a junior, appealed the results, challenging the Election Commission’s decision to use a paper ballot due to lack of registered candidates.

Share This Article

Related News

College, RBC unveil program aimed at helping low-income students transfer more easily
Power outage, Boutetourt Complex evacuation costs College $63,000
Best of the Burg: Best Scenery

About Author

Leave A Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *