Elections Commission releases Honor Council results


    The College of William and Mary’s Honor Council is set to welcome 23 new members with the results of Thursday’s honor council election.

    According to Honor Council Vice-Chair Skyler Halbritter ’11, 1,191 students participated in this year’s election, totaling 20.54 percent of the College’s student body. The results and turnout figures were verified by student-at-large Mike Young ’11.

    The class of 2012’s new honor council representatives will be Zara Stasi, Kathleen Murphy, Laura Zobor, Tess Engebretson, Lina Yeh, Darren Migneault, Trent Sternbeck and Jason Gangwer. The class of 2013 elected Alice Shaughnessy, Ben Migdol, Rebecca Avison, Julian Harrison, Justin Duke, Mirin Park and Nicole Rugayo. The class of 2014 will be represented by Sarah Appleton, Zack Brown, Dylan Kolhoff, Hanna Loucas, Emily Newcomb, Richard Murphy, J.W. Seo and Christina Shintani.

    Halbritter said that the new honor council members would serve the body well.

    “We would like to thank all candidates who applied, and we look forward to the contributions our newly elected members will make in service to the College and the student body,” Halbritter said in a press release.

    Due to a lack of a sufficient number of candidates, the class of 2013 elected only seven representatives to the council. The eighth vacancy will be filled once all new members have been sworn in to their positions on the council Feb. 27.

    Complete voting totals for individual candidates are available beginning today on the honor council election website Wm.edu/HCelections.


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here