About The Flat Hat

The Flat Hat has been the College of William and Mary’s student newspaper since 1911. It covers the College and the surrounding area of Williamsburg, Va., printing on Tuesdays of the academic year. The Flat Hat office is located in the Campus Center basement at the intersection of South Boundary Street and Jamestown Road.

The Flat Hat derives its name and motto (“Stabilitas et Fides”) from the Flat Hat Club, the nation’s first secret society. The Flat Hat Club was founded at the College in 1750 and included among its members St. George Tucker, Thomas Jefferson and George Wythe. It is believed that the Flat Hat Club was the precursor of the Phi Beta Kappa Society, established at the College in 1776.

The Flat Hat printed its first issue on October 3, 1911.

The Flat Hat is produced entirely by a volunteer all-undergraduate staff. It has no faculty adviser. The student journalists of The Flat Hat control all online and print content. The production of the paper’s news and editorial content is in no way supervised by any College administrator. The Flat Hat also controls its own advertising and business departments.

Editor-in-Chief: Tucker Higgins

Managing Editor: Isabel Larroca

Executive Editor: Sarah Ruiz 

Digital Media Editors: Madeline BielskiKayla Sharpe

News Editors: Emily Chaumont, Sarah Smith

Chief Staff Writer: Emily Martell

Opinions Editors: Jenny Cosgrove, Julia Stumbaugh

Variety Editors: Sam DreithLizzy Flood

Chief Features Writer: Akemi Tamanaha

Sports Editors: Nick CipollaJosh Luckenbaugh

Photos Editors: Kyra Solomon

Chief Photographer: Gabbie Pachon

Online Editors: Iris Hyon, Cort Mays

Chief Videographer: Julia Kott

Copy Chiefs: Lauren Bavis, Leonor Grave

Editorial Writers: Miguel Locsin, Quinn Monette

Blogs Editors: Bri Little

Social Media Editor: Iris Duan

Graphics Editor: Kristie Turkal

Pollster: Ammon Harteis

Business Manager: Patricia Mook

Associate News Editors: Allison Rohrer, Caroline Nutter

Associate Sports Editor: Vansh Bansal, Chris Travis

Associate Variety Editors: Erika Bosack, Abby Berry, Katie Koontz

Associate Opinions Editor: Thomas Briggs

Associate Online Editor: Elise Barbin

Associate Podcast Editors: Siobhan Doherty, Peter Eckel

Associate Social Media Editor: Madison Ochs

Associate Business Managers: Sean Aminali, Aaron Kiser, Feng Li, Tim Shanahan

Outreach Manager: Moises Romero

Accounts Manager: Ebony Barnes

Copy Editors: Hannah Gourdie, Bel Kelly-Russo, Becca Merriman-Goldring, Katherine Peck, Sydney Rosenberger, Lillian Waddill