Alpert, Sadeghian announce SA presidential runs

Written by


March 15, 2011

4:49 PM

Campaigns for the upcoming Student Assembly election at the College of William and Mary have kicked off with the first candidates for SA president and vice president announced.

Campaigning was permitted to begin at 12:01 a.m. Tuesday. David Alpert ’13 and Tamara Middleton ’14 were first to announce their campaign for SA president and vice president, respectively. SA vice president Kaveh Sadeghian ’12 and Molly Bulman ’12 have also announced their campaign for the president and vice president, respectively

“We know we are a younger ticket, but we believe that means we have a fresh perspective,” Middleton said. “We are excited to use the campaign to meet more students and break down barriers.”

SA transparency and communication are the main pillars of Alpert and Middleton’s campaign platform.

“We think the Student Assembly needs to take a step back,” says Alpert.

Middleton and Alpert distinguish themselves as the only Greek ticket. In addition to serving two terms as president of the class of 2013, Alpert is also a member of Sigma Chi and Alpha Phi Omega.

“I want to institutionalize making the SA more approachable and accessible, something that I didn’t feel was reflected in the ticket,” Sadeghian said.

Sadeghian said he wanted to help students to trust the SA trusted again through positive reinforcement. Sadeghain’s campaign slogan, “let’s do it,” seeks to encourage student suggestion and greater collective student involvement in the SA.

“We need to break the bubble that exists between the SA and the student body,” Sadeghian said. “The SA should supplement a person’s life in addition to getting involved on campus, not be a person’s whole life.”

In addition to these positions, each social class has nine available posts, including president, vice president of advocacy, vice president of social affairs, treasurer, secretary and four senators.

Elections will take place on March 24.

Below is a list of candidates
*SA President and Vice President*
David Alpert ’13 and Tamara Middleton ’14
Kaveh Sadeghian ’12 and Molly Bulman ’12

*Senate: 2012*
Zach Marcus
Michael Wagner

*Senate 2013*
Tyler Johnson
Grace Colby
Gus Herbert
Noah Kim
Ryan McManus

*Senate 2014*
Joseph Scholle
Dallen McNerney
Matthew Paganussi
John Woo
Chase Koontz

*Class officers*
President: Stephanie McGuire
Vice President of Advocacy: Amanda Brazzel
Vice President of Social Affairs: Vacant
Treasurer: Vacant
Secretary: Vacant

President: Tess DeAtley
Vice President of Advocacy: Morgan Dyson
Vice President of Social Affairs: Dasha Godunova, Lemondre Watson
Treasurer: Logan M. M. Scott
Secretary: Alexis VeraCruz

Class President: Tony Hanagan, Christian Bale
Vice President of Advocacy: Alex Comerford
Vice President of Social Affairs: Megan McCarthy
Treasurer: Brett Prestia
Secretary: Amanda Morrow, Taylor Feenstra

Elections will take place on March 24.

Check back with for more on this developing story.

Share This Article

Related News

Best of the Burg: Best Scenery
Best of the Burg: Best Caffeine Fix
Best of the ‘Burg: Best Facebook Page

About Author

Leave A Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *